Around the World in 2 days

I am really enjoying the past few days meeting new people from all over the world! I made new friends from Armenia, Morocco, Russia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Argentina, America and a bunch more of countries. It was pretty embarrassing though when after asking for which country they were from, I go “Ahhhh… where is that again?” – and right there and then, I get an impromptu geography class!

These people that I met are here for the KGSP Korean Language Program, just like me. We are going to study Korean for one year and had to pass TOPIK Level 3 to be able to pursue our Master’s degree study. I really don’t know much about them now – what I do know is that, wow, they are so good in Korean! Not only that, most of the KGSP students here are polyglots – French, Russian, Spanish, Japanese, you name it! Β Well, although I’ve studied these languages before, I couldn’t even utter one simple sentence correctly. In spite of everything, what I found interesting though is that these people prefer to speak in Korean rather than English — which makes me more excited to go to my Korean class. I badly Β want to be fluent in at least one “foreign” language! πŸ˜‰

Anyway, today was a very long day. I even had to write a status in Facebook about how happy I was to wake up at 7AM! Narine and I went out to get some fresh air before breakfast because after we entered the cafeteria, she felt sick because of the smell of the food…so, we just bought some coffee at the Family Mart. Nonetheless, after breakfast, some us students walked for 25 minutes to Lotte Mart just to buy a few things like trash bin, cups, broom, and other stuff. It was very tiring because we never rode the taxi on a very hot summer day! We had a very late lunch at past two in the afternoon and had an early dinner at 5 – and yes, it’s true. After dinner, the “Russian band” invited me to walk around the campus. While we were strolling though, it began to rain and now… I’m sick. Oh, don’t worry, I’ll be fine πŸ™‚

Sorry for just writing down a list of things that I did today with no opinion at all. It’s past twelve already and we have to wake up early tomorrow (6AM) because we will go to Gyeongju (κ²½μ£Ό – 4 hours travel) for our orientation. Once again, here are a few photos from today’s adventure:

Just the mini team - the other's are still having some Jet lag, I suppose

Just the mini team – the others are still having some Jet lag, I suppose (there are 56 of us, btw)

Koreans fixing the debris scattered because of the Typhoon Bolaven

Koreans fixing the debris scattered because of the Typhoon Bolaven

Before and after photos of our Lotte Mart Adventure! We were very happy to see that street sign because we thought we were lost --- plus, surprisingly, there weren't any other person walking on the streets XD

Before and after photos of our Lotte Mart Adventure! We were very happy to see that street sign because we thought we were lost — plus, surprisingly, there weren’t any other person walking on the streets πŸ˜‰

The Russian band!

The Russian band!

with the Russian band :)

walked in the rain with the Russian band πŸ™‚

PS. I may not have a photo with them, but I met the two other Filipinos here – Winnie and Michelle! I think it will be a good year for everyone of us! πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Around the World in 2 days

Leave a Reply

