2 Weeks Late Notice

Final KGSP Orientation

Final Jeonju Uni. GKS Orientation at Onnuri Hall

It has been 2 weeks since I arrived here in South Korea, particularly in Jeonju. Although the first week was a little harsh because we had so many documents to process and activities to pursue, the second week was a little tamer. We had several orientations for the scholarship itself and the university’s dormitory. If there’s anything that was memorable from both OTs (Orientation), it would be the raffle draw during the dorm orientation. The dormitory staff were giving away prizes like digital camera, printers, laundry detergent, fabric conditioner, flash disk, 500Gb external hard drives, computer keyboard, mouse, and even A4 bond papers – interesting, huh? Unfortunately, my name wasn’t called even once but there is one from our team, the GKS (Global Korea Scholars), whose name was called and she won a vacuum cleaner! Yay! Vacuum cleaner for everyone!

Anyway, last Monday (September 3), we took the Korean Placement Exam. This is an exam that would determine which level we should be in for our Korean classes. Results of the exam were out the next day and as expected, I got into level 2! I wasn’t unhappy with the results since I’ve always wanted to review the lessons I’ve learned 2 years ago.

Korean Language Course - 1st Term

Korean Language Course – 1st Term ends a day after my birthday! Awesome or not? Nah.

We have been in class for 3 days only but God knows how busy we were studying! Our classes starts at 9am and ends at 1pm – after every hour, we have a 10 minute break, not enough to cram assignments or run to the nearest Mini Stop to buy a can of coffee comfortably!

In my class, 2B, most of my classmates are Chinese and Mongolians, then there are two Russian speaking students (one of them is Maria, my Commodore roommate), and then there’s me. Our teacher teaches Korean in Korean – a very stressful process if you are a beginner, but I think I’m used to it already (although, I get a little confused sometimes). Perhaps one of those “sometimes” was when me and Maria answered the wrong book for our assignment! Sometimes can be deadly. Lol.

Since we’re divided according to our Korean proficiency and we still don’t have phones to ask whoever where we should eat lunch – lunch is but a stressful activity! Nobody wants to eat alone in a foreign country, right? I eat lunch with whoever I ran into after my class – yes, give me a pat in the back.

Yonsei Books for Level 2 class

Yonsei Books for Level 2 class – Grammar notes are equivalent to Sogang Level 3A class (last class I took 2 years ago).

Like what I wrote earlier, we have been studying all day. We study while doing laundry, while cleaning, while chatting with strangers and almost all the time! Although, the lessons taught in class were sort of a review for me, I still need to strive harder because I have to memorize and put into heart the words that I gobble! (Say, 100+ words a day).

Never in my life have I been studying like this – for every second, for every chance, for every word not known, for every thing the book has not shown. It’s not easy but I chose this and most importantly, I am happy with what I am doing and how things are recently πŸ˜‰

μ¦κΈ°λ©΄μ„œ μ‚΄μž! β™₯

My Facebook Status, September 7, 2012

But of course, we do know how to have fun! Here are our TGIF~S parties! πŸ˜‰

TGIF: Samgyeopsal and Noraebang Party!

TGIF: Samgyeopsal and Noraebang Party! (My Table)

TGIF: Samgyeopsal and Noraebang Party!

TGIF: Samgyeopsal and Noraebang Party!

TGIF: Noraebang after Samgyeopsal Party!

TGIF: Noraebang after Samgyeopsal Party!

Girls' Saturday Night Out!

Girls’ Saturday Night Out! (Well, we just roamed around the campus, and got lost γ…‹γ…‹)

Girls' Saturday Night Out

Girls’ Saturday Night Out – Plamena wanted to drink just outside the convenient store because it looked cool as if we were on a drama, tehee!

With Everyone :)

A rare chance to be in the picture πŸ˜‰ I’m happy to be part of this group!

They were right :)

They were right ;D

Leave a Reply

