Jeonju International Sori Festival 2012

Sori Arts Center

Sori Arts Center: packed with so many people, most of them were little kids – very interesting.

A week long celebration of international music, both modern and traditional , through concerts and various exhibits – this is probably how I would describe the said event after visiting it yesterday together with other GKS students of Jeonju University.

We arrived at the Sori Arts Center at 3pm to get a glimpse of several booths set up there. There were booths that sell souvenir items from different parts of the world and booths that offers activities for children and maybe, children alike. Some of these activities were handicraft, pottery making, and even baking cakes! Morever, there were also booths that sell foods from some countries – Turkey, USA, and Japan. I bought fried chicken as my dinner because I was craving for it since morning. Anyway, the highlight of yesterday’s trip was “김형석 (Kim Hyeong Seok) with Friends” concert.

Jeonju International Sori Festival: 김형석 with friends, opening performance.

Jeonju International Sori Festival: 김형석 with friends, opening performance.

I really didn’t know about this guy until the person who sponsored our trip told us that he is a very famous producer in Korea – famous, as in, he produced 1/3 of Korea’s music! At first I thought his genre of music would be classical (pansori genre, if there is such a thing), but when the concert started, I was really shocked of who his “friends” were!

Kim Hyeong Seok

Kim Hyeong Seok (김형석) hands down to THE producer.

The first singer will be Younha.

The girl sang a song very beautifully and most of my foreigner companions were whispering to each other if she’s a famous singer. “Maybe?” “Maybe she won a contest like Korean Superstar, Korean’s American Idol-ish show” Wonderful. Her voice was just wonderful although we really didn’t understand everything that she sang. Then suddenly,

Younha at the Jeonju International Music Festival

Younha (윤하) at the Jeonju International Music Festival

♫ 새하얀 머플러에 얼굴을 묻고
붉어진 눈을 깜빡이며 널 기다렸어
무슨 얘길 하고픈지 그 맘 알 것도 같은데 모르겠어…

오늘 헤어졌어요 우리 헤어졌어요
내 맘 알 것 같다면 옆에서 같이 울어줘요
나는 안되나 봐요 역시 아닌가 봐요
얼마나 더 울어야 제대로 사랑할까요..♫

OMG. She just sang the song I often sing in the noraebang! Oh wait! There is one famous korean singer named Younha. “OMG. OMG. It is Younha!” I was telling my friends beside me and began singing the song. Priceless. I really didn’t have any idea who Kim Hyeong Seok’s friends are. There were other singers who performed that night. It was a night of singing and even dancing for us – 재미있었어요, very interesting, that is how I summed up my experience during the International Sori Festival in Jeonju City.

Hands down to Kim Hyeong Seok and friends!

Other photos during the concert:

Producer 김형석 is an amazing pianist too!

Producer 김형석 is an amazing pianist too!

Younha - never failed to please the crowd!

Younha – never failed to please the crowd!

It would have been nice if I knew her other songs

It would have been nice if I knew her other songs

I'm so sorry but I didn't get his name - what I'm sure of though, is that our teachers loved him ㅋㅋㅋㅋ

I’m so sorry but I didn’t get his name – what I’m sure of though, is that our teachers loved him ㅋㅋㅋㅋ

We Style (?) - sexy and great gayageum/flute players.

We Style (?) – sexy and great gayageum/flute players.

These girls were featured on the popular Korean Drama, Heartstrings 넌 내게 반했어.

These girls were featured on the popular Korean Drama, Heartstrings 넌 내게 반했어.

The guy who sang mellow songs and rocked on the latter part of the concert :D

The guy who sang mellow songs and rocked on the latter part of the concert 😀

The liveliest part of the concert!

The liveliest part of the concert! Everybody were standing up, jumping, and shouting! OH YEAH 😀

PS. I didn’t have too many photos because I was stupid enough to bring a camera with empty batteries. Sorry.

4 thoughts on “Jeonju International Sori Festival 2012

  1. omg, Younha was there!!! jealous. did you not know about Younha that much? or did you guys not recognized her, because she has changed to mature look now days then before.

    • Yeah! She was there — and like I said, I was really surprised! I know just two of her songs because my friends kept singing it in the karaoke room and I picked up the melody from them. I was never sure of how she looked like 😀 Now that I’ve seen her performed, I think imma watch more of her videos 🙂

  2. Oh my god. she sang Sonagi (Rain Shower)!!! I’m so jealous you got to hear that live! That song is incredible stuff. It trumps “Today We Broke Up”! Do check out her new album if you have the time. (: specially 소나기 and Run ^^

Leave a Reply

