Bukchon Hanok Village

For three days, I have accompanied KBS Chuncheon’s production team. They were making a documentary of us, foreigners who are here in Korea who are ‘reaching for our dreams.’ For three days, I have felt like I was part of the team rather than the person being documented. Despite my lack of fluency in the Korean language, I have successfully served as a translator during their interviews. Apart from translating, I have asked better questions to actually complete the documentary. I have immediately captured the picture they were trying to portray and it felt just natural to direct people this and that. I hope the documentary will come out well! πŸ™‚

Anyway, yesterday, we went to Bukchon Hanok Village (λΆμ΄Œν•œμ˜₯λ§ˆμ„) as part of their story, or should I say, my story. My friend and I were well documented as we strolled the narrow street of this traditional Korean village located at the heart of Seoul.

Unfortunately, the rained poured hard that day. It was quite difficult to explore and take photos when the rain keeps hitting my camera. We weren’t able to roam on the more popular spots such as photo spots (I’ve read there were 8 of them), food street, and the street packed with fancy Korean modern/traditional/artsy stuff. We entered one guesthouse though. That place is called Rock Go Jae. The guesthouse is located within the village and its design is similar to an elite Hanok place. Staying at that guesthouse cost around 270,000 won per day.

The rain didn’t stop from pouring so we had to cancel some of the activities listed and traveled back to Chuncheon. Sadly, the Seollal traffic had started as early as Monday, thus the usual 1 hour trip turned into a 3 hour struggle on the highway.Β I’d love to visit that place again. Minus the rain. Minus the traffic. And probably plus friends πŸ™‚

Β How to get there:
Anguk Station (Seoul Subway Line 3), Exit 2. Go straight for about 300m to arrive at Bukchon Hanok Village.

2 thoughts on “Bukchon Hanok Village

  1. Pingback: Chasing Dreams | splurk

  2. Pingback: Little Korea | splurk

Leave a Reply

