Chasing Dreams

Remember how I worked with KBS Chuncheon for a few days just before Seollal? Well, the good news is that they already aired the documentary last night! The bad news is that I still couldn’t find a way to grab a better copy for my YouTube Channel. The video is clearer though if you view it from their homepage. And well, another bad news is that my family and friends may not understood 80% of the video because I and the narrator have been speaking in Korean. Anyway, I am really grateful for this wonderful opportunity and I am definitely looking forward to spend more of my time doing media-related stuff 🙂

This program is called HumanDocu InStory produced by KBS Chuncheon. The show airs every Wednesday at 8:05PM. If you want to watch other videos from them you may visit their official website.

In this particular episode, InStory featured our building. Our building is among the many structures scattered near the university which offers one-room spaces. The catch though is that this building is surprisingly flocked with foreigners! And the culprit is no other than, my friend, Naveed. I got to know of this place through Naveed and since then, I have been encouraging others to move in as well. There aren’t many things that differs this one-room among the others. It is just… well, crazy cheap. (But that wasn’t mentioned in this docu).

The producers picked me and Naveed to be the main characters of this episode. They actually wanted to pick me only (because, again, surprisingly, I was the only one who speaks and understands Korean a tad better than everyone else in the building! Plus, the owner of the place told them how talkative I was! HAHA), but I was quite shy to be with the entire production team the whole time so I volunteered to be their translator and let them include Naveed and Janine in the picture 🙂

The first part revolves around Naveed’s daily life – laboratory, praying with the Muslim community, and etc. After that, I was introduced at the middle part of the show. Since this was shot during vacation period, there was nothing much I could show for the team about my daily life! What will people think about me if they see me on television waking up at 12nn, eating leftovers, watching YouTube videos, reading Flipboard articles and then back to sleeping? I didn’t want to pretend that I am working on my thesis because my professor might come looking for an output this coming semester! So, I told them about my hobbies. And this is where my interest in travelling and blogging poured in. I shared to them what I wanted to be, what I’ve been doing to pursue my dreams here in Korea, how I’ve been chasing  opportunities like internships and how much love I’ve grown for Korea over the years. The producers liked my story so they offered to take me to Bukchon Hanok Village to do my thing! (thank you!) Here’s a short piece I wrote about that day.

Enough about me. In this episode, you will get a sneak peek of Naveed’s almost monthly party at his place. His Pakistan-curry-and-milk-tea-party kind of gathering! Truth be told, all the dishes he has served us were delicious! At the last part of the show, the team decided to put the spotlight on me and Naveed as friends. Friends chatting normally. Unfortunately, I think I failed them on that! While I was watching this video, it looked like I’ve been interviewing Naveed the whole time! HAHA. Broadcomm pa more. Anyway, I hope you’ll enjoy this mini docu 🙂

Here are two BTS stills I took with my phone camera. Only two. Yep ㅋㅋㅋ

How to get to Bukchon Hanok Village:
Anguk Station (Seoul Subway Line 3), Exit 2. Go straight for about 300m to arrive at Bukchon Hanok Village.

Leave a Reply

